What Programs Are Available To Assist Elderly Adults in Utah?

Which state department assist seniors in Utah? The Division of Aging and Adult Services operates the Aging Waiver in Utah.

What programs assist older adults in Utah? The Aging Waiver for Individuals Age 65 or Older assists seniors.

What is the best number to call to get started? (801) 538-3910

Is there a website? https://daas.utah.gov/

Who Qualifies For Assistance?

The Aging Waiver (For Individuals Age 65 or Older) is designed to provide services statewide to help older adults remain in their homes or other community based settings. Individuals are able to live as independently as possible with supportive services provided through this waiver program.
Eligibility Requirements
 Be 65 years of age or older.
 Require nursing facility level of care.
 Meet financial eligibility requirements for Medicaid.

Is There a Waiting List For Services?

Limitations of the Utah Aging Waiver

  • A limited number of individuals are served
  • There is a waiting list for this waiver program.
  • Individuals can use only those services they are assessed as needing.

What Services Are Offered

What services does the Utah Medicaid waiver program offer? Waiver Services include the following: Adult Companion Services; Adult Day Health Services; Case Management; Chore Services; Community Transition Services; Emergency Response Systems; Environmental Accessibility Adaptations; Fiscal Management Services; Homemaker Services; Medication Reminder Systems; Non-medical Transportation; Personal Attendant Program Training; Personal Attendant Services; Personal Budget Assistance; Respite Care Services; Specialized Medical Equipment; Supplemental Meals; AND Supportive Maintenance Home Health Aide.

Additional Information

States may develop programs that provide home and community based services to a limited, targeted group of individuals (example: people with brain injuries, people with physical disabilities, or people over age 65). Individuals may participate in a waiver only if they require the level of care provided in a skilled nursing facility (SNF) or an intermediate care facility for people with intellectual disabilities (ICF/ID). States are required to maintain cost neutrality which means the cost of providing services to people at home or in the community has to be the same or less than if they lived in a nursing facility. Services provided cannot duplicate services provided by Medicaid under the Medicaid State Plan. States must provide assurances to the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) that necessary safeguards are taken to protect the health and welfare of the recipients of a waiver program.