What Programs Are Available To Assist Elderly Adults in South Dakota?

Which state department assist seniors in South Dakota? The Elderly HOPE Waiver (HCBS Waiver) is operated by the South Dakota Department of Human Services.
The Division of Long-Term Services and Supports provides in-home and community-based services to individuals 60 years of age and older. Contact Dakota at Home to learn more about available long-term services and supports.

What programs assist older adults? The Elderly HOPE Waiver (HCBS Waiver) program assists elderly persons in South Dakota. Elders and consumers who are over age 18 with a qualifying disability may be eligible for Home and Community-Based Waiver services.

What is the best number to call to get started? Call Dakota at Home 1-833-663-9673 to find organizations, providers, state, and national information. Dakota at Home, South Dakota's Aging and Disability Resource Center Dakota at Home is a service of the South Dakota Department of Human Services.

Is there a website? http://dhs.sd.gov/

Who Qualifies For Assistance?

In order to qualify, the following must occur:

  • Must be age 65 or older; or age 18 and over with a qualifying disability
  • Meet a Nursing Facility of Level of Care
  • Participate in an assessment of needs
  • Must NOT be a resident of a hospital, nursing facility, or an ICF/MR.
  • The Individual must receive one or more waiver services at least one time per month
  • Must meet financial eligibility as determined by Economic Assistance

What Services Are Offered & What Are The Service Limitations?

What services does the South Dakota Medicaid waiver program offer?
Services provided through the South Dakota Home and Community-Based Services Waiver include: Adult Companion Services; Adult Day Services; Assisted Living; Chore Services; Emergency Response Systems; Environmental Accessibility Adaptations; Homemaker; Meals; In-Home Nursing Services; Nutritional Supplements; Personal Care Services; Respite; Specialized Medical Equipment, AND Specialized Medical Supplies.

Additional Information

2018 Major Waiver Changes -
The Home & Community Based Waiver Services for the Elderly (HCBS) has been renamed the Home and Community-Based Options and Person Centered Excellence (HOPE) Waiver -Administrative responsibility has been changed to the Department of Human Services, Division of Long Term Services and Supports (DHS-LTSS) from the Division of Adult Services and Aging -No longer is a physician's order required for eligibility. However, a Community Health Assessment (CHA) is still required.