What Programs Are Available To Assist Elderly Adults in North Dakota?

Which state department assist seniors in North Dakota? Medicaid Waiver for Home and Community Based Services is the waiver program for older adults in North Dakota. North Dakota also provides home and community-based services through several other programs, which each serve different needs. Programs include: Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled Program; Expanded Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled Program (Ex-SPED); and Older Americans Act Services.

What is the best number to call to get started? The North Dakota Aging Services Division can be contacted at Phone: 701.328.4601.

Is there a website? http://www.nd.gov/dhs/

Who Qualifies For Assistance?

Who qualifies for the Elderly Waiver in North Dakota? To qualify for services under the Medicaid Waiver program, an individual must be: A Medicaid recipient (meets Medicaid income and other eligibility requirements), and Screened at nursing facility level-of-care, and At least 65 years of age OR disabled by Social Security Disability criteria, and Capable of directing his/her own care, and Living in his or her own home or apartment (not in dormitory or other group housing), and Able to have his or her service/care need(s) met within the scope of this waiver.

Is There a Waiting List For Services?

How long is the waiting list? North Dakota does not have a waiting list.

What Services Are Offered & What Are The Service Limitations?

What services does the elderly Medicaid waiver program offer in North Dakota? Services include: Adult Day Care; Adult Family Foster Care; Case Management; Chore Service; Emergency Response System (Lifeline); Environmental Modification; Homemaker Service; Non-Medical Transportation; Residential Care; Respite Care; Specialized Equipment; Supported Employment Services; Supported Employment Services; and Transitional Living Service.

How Do You Select A Provider?

Who will provide my services? Services are provided by Qualified Service Providers.
Qualified Service Providers are individuals or agencies that have agreed to provide services to clients who receive services funded by the N.D. Department of Human Services. State law requires that people who are eligible for home and community-based services be free to choose among available qualified service providers that offer competitively priced services. Qualified Service Providers are considered independent contractors that have met certain competency standards required to provide services to eligible clients.

Additional Information

Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled (SPED) Program Provides services for people who are older or physically disabled and who have difficulty completing tasks that enable them to live independently at home.
Expanded Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled (Ex-SPED) Program Pays for in-home and community-based services for people who would otherwise receive care in a licensed basic care facility.
Medicaid Waiver for Home and Community Based Services This waiver from the federal government allows the state to use Medicaid funds to provide services enabling eligible individuals who would otherwise require nursing home services to remain in their homes or communities.
Older Americans Act Services These services, which include health maintenance, home-delivered meals, transportation, and other services, enhance the ability of older individuals to maintain their independence and to remain in their own homes and communities.